Appointment of the new European Commission in 2009

The next European Commission will be appointed in November 2009. Currently 33% of the Commissioners are women. Participate in the 50/50 Campaign by asking national governments, the European Parliament to make gender equality a priority for the composittion of the next Commission.

How it works

The European Commission consists currently of 27 women and men — one from each EU country. They are assisted by about 24 000 civil servants, most of whom work in Brussels. The European Commission represents and upholds the interests of Europe as a whole. Therefore the Commissioners do not represent their home countries. Instead, each of them has responsibility for a particular EU policy area.

The Commission is appointed for a period of five years, coinciding with the period for which the European Parliament is elected. The next Commission will be appointed in November 2009. Discussions on the potential EU Commissioners, as well as on the potential names for the President of the Commission are on-going.

The President of the Commission is chosen by EU governments and endorsed by the European Parliament. The other EU Commissioners are nominated by their national governments in consultation with the in-coming President, and must be approved by the European Parliament. All governments, the designate President of the European Commission, and the Members of the European Parliament have therefor individual and collective responsibility in ensuring the equal representation of women and men in the European Commission.


  • Please ask national governments to support the parity system proposed by the EWL. This is a system whereby each Member State would propose a woman and a man as nominees and the President of the EC would choose among them with a view to achieve a gender balance. You can use a model lobbying letter (please find the letter in French here).
%d bloggers like this: